The Technology Thread

Blewatter

Generic technology thread for generic technology talk. And now a statement that will date this thread forever:

Those mad cats finally went and done it. USB C is coming to the iPhone. Took them long enough.
Martin Phillp

Helped by EU rules enforcing USB-C on handsets sold in the EU, one of their largest markets. There was no way Apple would continue using their own connectors in the UK for example when they'll be distributing them to our neighbours who are either in the EU or part of the Schengen area like Switzerland and Norway.
TVF's London Lite.
Jonwo

Tech companies have to introduce user replacement batteries on devices by 2027 although I reckon there will be a few loop holes to ensure it won't be like before when phones had removable batteries.
Dr Lobster*

I think phones have become rather boring now, I went from changing my phone at least every couple of years at most (like I have been doing since the late 1990) to not upgrading my phone since 2019 (still have an iPhone 11).

There isn't too much more I think the companies can take them... the cameras are better (on the face of it) but image quality and dynamic range fall apart pretty quickly, and the screens have got so good they don't need any more pixels.

My friend had a Galaxy fold thing, looked cool, but so fragile, had dints on the screen after only a couple of weeks.

better battery life would be good though.
Martin Phillp

Samsung have realised that customers are keeping handsets for longer. Mine which I purchased in 2022 goes up to Android 16 for OS support.
TVF's London Lite.
thegeek

I've just replaced my Pixel 4a (a 2020 model) because the software support has run out. It's otherwise fine. At least they've said they'll give me £100 for it, so hopefully it's not going to be e-waste.