Trams - I love 'em, but are they worth the money?

johnnyboy

A really geeky interest of mine is trams.

I never ever thought about them until I was a student in Sheffield, when the tram system was near being completed.

I ended up working for Supertram for 6 months in a part-time job as a conductor.

Trams, especially the supertrams in Sheffield, Croydon and Nottingham, lend something continental and sexy to a city. Yes, they always mainly undershoot the ambitious passenger targets in their proposals, but I would quite happily take a tram where I wouldn't take a bus.

Should every major conurbation in the UK get extensive tram systems like in Amsterdam and Prague?

[/geek]
martindtanderson

I've only ever used the Metro in Manchester, and I find them smooth, and reliable.

Living in London I dont get up north much, so I look forward to the possibility of trams in Central London.
iSon

johnnyboy wrote:A really geeky interest of mine is trams.

I never ever thought about them until I was a student in Sheffield, when the tram system was near being completed.

I ended up working for Supertram for 6 months in a part-time job as a conductor.

Trams, especially the supertrams in Sheffield, Croydon and Nottingham, lend something continental and sexy to a city. Yes, they always mainly undershoot the ambitious passenger targets in their proposals, but I would quite happily take a tram where I wouldn't take a bus.

Should every major conurbation in the UK get extensive tram systems like in Amsterdam and Prague?

[/geek]

Trams are pretty useful things. Croydon Tramlink costs as much as a bus fare does and they're nice and smooth and fairly quick. Although the trouble is when you're not using them. The ones in Croydon decide to try and run you down and then ring the bell.

I don't think you could ever describe Croydon as continental and sexy though. :lol:
Good Lord!
Cheese Head
Banned

We got off the train in Nottingham and impulsively jumped on the new tram system.