Unable to access Metropol using Firefox

Martin Phillp
Posts: 1016
Joined: Wed 11 May, 2011 01.28

I've finally been able to get in here by using IE11. Been unable to get in here using Firefox, billy asko said he can't get in using Opera Mobile and I suspect both of those use Google's verification process to ensure sites are safe, so Chrome is a no go either.
TVF's London Lite.
JAS84
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri 12 Aug, 2011 10.23
Location: Hull, UK

Funny, I'm typing this using Google Chrome. :?
User avatar
WillPS
Posts: 2069
Joined: Tue 22 Apr, 2008 18.32
Location: Carlton
Contact:

I dunno who "Lets Encrypt" are but Firefox seems unhappy accepting an SSL cert from them. Adding an exception makes the problem go away.
Image
User avatar
Pete
Posts: 7228
Joined: Fri 15 Aug, 2003 13.36
Location: Dundee

WillPS wrote:I dunno who "Lets Encrypt" are but Firefox seems unhappy accepting an SSL cert from them. Adding an exception makes the problem go away.
How odd. Let's Encrypt is backed by Mozilla.

Is this a new bug? What version of Firefox are you using? I've just noticed the bug on Firefox 45 but it's working ok on Chrome 49. Shall investigate.

Image
"He has to be larger than bacon"
bilky asko
Posts: 1171
Joined: Sat 08 Nov, 2008 19.48

The error comes up for me on Opera Mobile and Chrome Mobile (on Android 6.0.1), but not Opera or Edge on Windows 10.

EDIT:

Image
Image

EDIT 2:
Just noticed that despite the page loading on my PC, it doesn't appear as secure on Opera:

Image

It does on Edge though.
Image
thegeek
Posts: 620
Joined: Sat 04 Jun, 2005 12.35

I think you need to clear your notifications.
User avatar
Nick Harvey
God
Posts: 4027
Joined: Fri 15 Aug, 2003 22.26
Location: Deepest Wiltshire
Contact:

I'm on Firefox 45.0.1, released last Tuesday, and I've been on here okay between Tuesday and this morning.

This is the error I get:

Image
bilky asko
Posts: 1171
Joined: Sat 08 Nov, 2008 19.48

thegeek wrote:I think you need to clear your notifications.
Indeed - that was just one night's worth of notifications.

EDIT: Having just run https://www.ssllabs.com/ssltest/ on this site, it rates the SSL as Grade B, with the note "This server's certificate chain is incomplete. Grade capped to B." I've no idea if it has any relevance to the problems at all.
Image
cwathen
Posts: 1144
Joined: Fri 15 Aug, 2003 17.28

Chrome on my phone is giving an untrusted certificate warning on every page, but Chrome on my desktop is fine. Weird

EDIT - My desktop is on Chrome 49 and is fine, just fired up a virtual machine I've not used in a while which was still on Chrome 48. That gives the same untrusted certificate error.
User avatar
WillPS
Posts: 2069
Joined: Tue 22 Apr, 2008 18.32
Location: Carlton
Contact:

I think your intermediate cert is screwed or not set.
Image
Philip
Posts: 968
Joined: Fri 22 Feb, 2008 21.23
Location: Merseyside
Contact:

Just to add to the screenshots, here's what comes up on Safari in iOS for us iSheep

Image
Image
Please Respond