Home networking

BlackCat

Hello there, this is my first time posting on here (I've come from TV Forum) and I already have a lengthy problem:

I am currently seeking to connect my two home computers (one on Windows XP, the other on Windows ME) with one another, in order to share files, peripherals, and the broadband connection that is currently delivered to the Windows XP machine. I have an Alcatel Speedtouch USB modem (it has no ethernet connector), and the Windows XP machine has a built-in 10/100mbps Network Adaptor (the Windows ME machine has none, but has spare USB and PCI slots).

As far as I am aware, this is the hardware I will need to connect them:
* A network adapter (USB or PCI) for my Windows ME machine
* A switch or a router
* 2 Category 5e cables - one to connect each machine to the switch or router.

Now, my question is this: because I am only going to connect two different computers to the network, do I really need a switch/router? And, if I do need one, which should I choose, a switch or a router? I am a little concerned that my USB-only modem may prevent me from using a router, which I have been told is the better option for sharing broadband connections.

Can someone help me out?

Thanks,
BlackCat
Martin

Hi, welcome to the site.

I have 2 pc's networked together simply with the one ethernet cable going direct from pc to pc. I've got an ntl usb modem which is connected to my main pc and through the network settings it shares it with the laptop. My main use for the network is to share files and I came across the capability to share the connection purely by chance.

Not sure if this is of any help but just to let you know it is possible without a router.

Martin
BlackCat

Okay, thankyou, just a couple more questions:

Would using a router have any benefits over not using a router?

Would a Cat6 cable provide any benefits over a Cat5 cable?
Neil Jones