I Hate Roundabouts

cdd

OK, full disclosure here: I am a bad driver. Probably the worst driver in the world. Nevertheless, I have somehow ended up with a driving license and have been putting it to good use for the best part of a year.

And in any case, I feel reasonably safe on 'normal' roads, and, indeed, on normal (symmetrical etc) roundabouts. Huge, traffic-light controlled things, not so much - like at Elephant and Castle, Vauxhall Cross, Marble Arch (sorry, I can only think of London examples).

Hence I appeal to this metromob of competent drivers for some advice! I'd be grateful for whatever general tips you can offer but my specific worries are:

1. One feels you should be able to start in one lane and go all the way around, never changing lanes if your choice is correct. The problem is, if you don't know the roundabout, you cAn't be sure of which entry lane is for your exit.

2. What are you meant to do hwhen your exit is coming up imminently, but there is heavy traffic to the left ('outside') of you? Clearly indicate left, but slowing down infuriates other drivers. Are those outside meant to give way to you? Is it acceptable to actually stop on a roundabout to complete a manoeuvure?

3. Point 2 would be somewhat easier if these mega roundabouts actually HAD lanes. As it stands many of them, like marble arch, either have large lane-free (wide road) sections, or the lanes are treated like they don't exit. So I become convinced I am about to crash into soMeone by changing notional lanes. Also everyone seems to drive very fast on these roundabouts which confuses me. What then?